Florida State Laws That Can Impact Your Car Accident Claim
Millions of drivers traverse Florida’s interstates, highways, turnpikes, and byways every single day. The probability of vehicular accidents occurring is considerable, so Florida drivers should have a thorough awareness of the state’s auto accident regulations.
We all know accidents happen, but do you know what to do if it occurs to you? If you’re a new driver or want to refresh your memory on Florida’s driving laws, here’s what you need to know.
Reporting a Florida Car Accident
Florida law mandates all drivers to stop and assist injured victims. Injuries or damages exceeding $500 must be reported to local law enforcement (police, sheriff, or highway patrol). If there were injuries, you must remain at the site.
All parties involved must share information (name, address, vehicle registration). While not required by law, you should jot down any witnesses’ names and contact information.
Weather and road conditions are also of vital importance. Take photos of the damage done to all vehicles involved and send them to your insurance provider.
The report should disclose the facts without criticizing you or the other driver. If your car is blocking traffic, you must move it or arrange for a tow. Blocking the roadway with your vehicle is against Florida law, so find a way to move it to the side.
Automobile Insurance Requirements
Florida has modest auto insurance requirements. To register and drive an automobile in Florida, the owner must show proof of insurance.
The minimum insurance needs are $10,000 PIP and $10,000 PDL (PDL).
Non-residents of Florida must meet specific insurance requirements. Florida has a financial law requiring most people to obtain $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident bodily injury liability coverage.
A driver who causes a wreck without the required BI coverage must post a $10,000 or $20,000 bond to the state of Florida. If you can’t pay, your license will be suspended.
Timeframe to Resolve a Car Accident Settlement in Florida
Most Florida vehicle wrecks settle, with only a few going to trial. If a trial is required, settling takes longer. Several factors influence the length of time it takes to settle most cases. Finally, you and the insurance company must agree on a settlement figure. If you can’t agree on a value, the case will take significantly longer.
It’s easier to reach a settlement agreement when the case’s worth exceeds the available insurance coverage. In that case, the insurer will want to pay quickly and close the issue. If the insurance policy exceeds your damages, the insurer will likely try to reduce your claim’s value and delay payment.
Car Accident Lawyers Here for You
Gross & Schuster, P.A.’s car accident lawyers have years of expertise in helping accident victims get the fullest compensation and obtain the justice they deserve. Let us help you recover the compensatory damages you need to move forward with your life and recover from the trauma. Call us at 850-434-3333 for a free consultation.
Request a Consultation
Awards & Associations
Terence Gross a great lawyer who took the time time to explain and walk me through the legal process and he always kept me informed and reassured. I give him my highest recommendation.”- Michelle McCorvey
I am so thankful that Rhett was recommended to us – he is a thoughtful, intentional attorney who genuinely had our best interests at heart. He was not in a rush but took his time working with us ensuring we had the best outcome possible. Fantastic experience working with him and his team!- Angela Horne
Mr. Gross is a true savant when it comes to auto accident claims. Have never seen such a cohesive group of people work together in a timely manner to process all the information necessary to get us help. Second Nature defined. If you’re looking for an experienced lawyer, especially in this field, look nowhere else- mike sarra