Mother charged in connection with daughter’s fatal crash
A Navarre mother has to share some of the responsibility for her daughter’s involvement in afatal automobile accident last May that killed a 77 year-old woman. Following a months-long investigation, the Florida Highway Patrol formally charged the driver and the mother in connection with the May 31st fatality. The woman is accused of allowing her 15 year-old take a mini-van and drive off, knowing that the teen was not properly licensed.
Police say the teen blew through a stop sign and T-boned a sedan, crushing the passenger’s side where the elderly woman sat. The impact spun the sedan around, causing a third vehicle to strike the rear. Three people in the third car suffered minor injuries. The car in which the elderly woman was riding was reduced to a smoldering heap of metal.
The teenager was charged with failure to obtain a driver’s license, failing to yield at a stop sign, and violating the requirements of a learner’s permit. It is a crime in Florida to allow an unauthorized person to operate a motor vehicle. The offense is a second degree misdemeanor that carries penalties of up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Source: nwfDailynews.com, “15 year-old girl arrested for involvement in fatal crash,” Angel McCurdy, Oct. 1, 2012
- Will I Have to Pay Taxes on My Personal Injury Settlement?
- What Are Economic Damages?
- How Do I File a Personal Injury Claim for a Car Accident?
- How Much Does It Cost to Hire a Personal Injury Lawyer?
- Dangerous Intersections in Pensacola
- When Can I Sue for a Rideshare Accident in Florida?
- Florida Car Accident Laws You Should Know
- Distracted Driving Causes Over 50,000 Florida Car Accidents Annually
- In a Florida Car Crash? Watch Out for These Injuries
- What To Do When You’ve Been Hit By An Uninsured Driver