State lawmakers consider ban on texting while driving
Texting while driving is one of the fastest growing forms of distracted driving. According to Florida state records, 2,218 vehicle accidents were the result of electronic distractions, and 145 were specifically linked to texting and driving. Most states have passed laws addressing the problem. Currently, there are only six states that have not done so, and Florida is one of them.
Florida lawmakers are currently considering a bill that would impose penalties on drivers who choose to text. The bill would impose a $30 fine for texting while driving, and a second offense would carry a $60 fine with the possibility of adding points to the driver’s license. It would still permit texting at red lights. Police officers would only be able to cite drivers for the offense if they are stopped for another offense.
The bill passed the Florida Senate unanimously last Tuesday, but could come up against opposition in the House, just as it has in the past.
Advocates of a ban say the bill is too lax, and say that a $30 is not a sufficient deterrent. Others say the proposal is an important step in the direction of addressing the problem.
Survivors of car accidents can come away with serious injuries that they live with for the rest of their life. Medical costs and lost income can make accident victims permanently dependant on others, in some cases.
Those who are harmed in auto accidents do well to contact an attorney to have their case evaluated. Doing so can make it possible to pet together a solid case with a favorable outcome.
Source: Tampa Bay Times,Some say texting-while-driving bill doesn’t do enough Meredith Rutland, April 17, 2013
- How Do I File a Personal Injury Claim for a Car Accident?
- How Much Does It Cost to Hire a Personal Injury Lawyer?
- Dangerous Intersections in Pensacola
- When Can I Sue for a Rideshare Accident in Florida?
- Florida Car Accident Laws You Should Know
- Distracted Driving Causes Over 50,000 Florida Car Accidents Annually
- In a Florida Car Crash? Watch Out for These Injuries
- What To Do When You’ve Been Hit By An Uninsured Driver
- How Long Do I Have To File A Car Accident Claim In Florida?
- What Happens In A Wrongful Death Lawsuit?